Guest Reviews for Bearberry Cottage

If you enjoyed your holiday in Bearberry Cottage, we would really appreciate it if you could leave a review here. Just click on the blue “Add Guestbook Entry” button below and complete the form. Alternatively, if you prefer, please send us an email with your comments which we can post online.

email: bearberryballater@gmail.com

Thank you to all our lovely guests who left these wonderful reviews below.

 

 

  • Another wonderful stay at Bearberry Cottage. As ever the bungalow was beautifully clean and well equipped - a real home from home. We enjoyed some stunning autumnal walks, the Cairns walk around the Balmoral estate being highly recommended. Thank you Lorelle and Athol for a fantastic week and we’re looking forward to returning next year! Vicky and Angela

    — Vicky , 12 Nov 2021
  • We have been regular visitors at Bearberry Cottage since 2014, both as a family group and as a couple. We have recently returned home after enjoying another lovely week at Bearberry. The house is very well appointed and extremely comfortable, literally a home from home and as always, it was spotlessly clean. The cottage is located in a very quiet part of the village yet convenient and within easy walking distance of the nearby shops and other local amenities and ideally placed for exploring Royal Deeside, the Cairngorm National Park and further afield in Scotland. There is an enclosed and safe rear garden which attracts a variety of wild birds, including during our last visit a pair of beautiful Jays and of course the red squirrels from the adjacent wood are regular and very welcome visitors. Bearberry Cottage is highly recommended and we are already looking forward to our next visit.

    — The McDonald Family, 08 Nov 2021
  • Our favourite holiday cottage by far!! First holiday in Bearberry cottage was in 2016 & it's always our first choice for Ballater. Perfect for our family including our dog! Super comfy, cosy spotless cottage. Gorgeous enclosed garden,perfect location so quiet, minutes from town which has excellent co op & coffee shops ( Brown Sugar Cafe our favourite! Fab if gluten free!) Chippy even does Gluten free fish & chips! So,so many stunning walks close by some just a short stroll & some full day in hills. We love the fabulous selection of walking books at Bearberry. Also great selection of games & nothing better than cosy log burner & super comfy beds at the end of the day! Lorelle always so helpful.

    — Sarah Livingstone, 23 Oct 2021
  • Had a fabulous week at Bearberry cottage. The accommodation has everything you need and is of a very high standard. Lorelle and Athol have thought of everything to make the accommodation so comfortable and communication is excellent when booking and providing all the information needed for arriving at the property. Just 5 minutes walk into Ballater and with so many local walks from the cottage, we enjoyed not using the car everyday. My husband climbed another 4 munroes around Ballater during our stay. 2 lovely days out , one to Nairn & Moray Firth. Great scenery driving through the Cairngorms. The other to Stonehaven and Dunnottar castle, beautiful coastline. Stonehaven has great beaches and a lovely harbour - recommend a day out here. We have booked again for May 2023 for a second stay and hoping to go to Balmoral.

    — Sharon Bishop , 03 Oct 2021
  • This is the best holiday accommodation we have stayed in. It was spotlessly clean upon our arrival, and it is very well equipped with endless books, DVDs, games, and every kitchen utensil you could possibly need. It is very spacious which is ideal for a family with teenagers like ours as there was plenty of space to spread out. It is a really good base from which to explore Ballater and the surrounding area. To be honest we didn't want to leave!

    — Liz Moor, 24 Aug 2021
  • Top class accommodation. Everything you could need and very comfortable. Loads of space inside and out. Amazing location in one of the most beautiful parts of the world. Lorelle and Athol are very efficient and there is great communication. Will definitely be back.

    — Ben Brown, 07 Aug 2021
  • We enjoyed our third stay at Bearberry cottage this summer. The house is everything you could wish for in a home away from home. Spotlessly clean and the kitchen has everything you need. The garden is perfect for sitting outside having a coffee or glass of wine, and equally great for games of catch with the kids. We’ve stayed during the summer and at Christmas and we’d recommend it at any time of the year.

    — Emily Owen, 25 Jul 2021
  • We have been to Bearberry Cottage 5 times and already booked up for our 6th visit. On every occasion the house has been spotlessly clean. It is well stocked and has everything one looks for in holiday accommodation. For dog owners the garden is enclosed and lovely to sit in the sunshine. Frequent visitors are birds and red squirrels. The Bridge Cafe is ideal for lunch. We would certainly recommend this house.

    — Anne, Gael and Ron Neilson, 01 Jul 2021
  • We have just returned from another visit to beautiful Bearberry Cottage. We have been many times before and each time find it the perfect place to stay. The cottage is always immaculate and well presented and there is everything you need for a relaxing stay. The care and love that goes in to it's upkeep means it is a wonderful place to stay each and every time. We are already booked for our next stay and can't wait to get back!

    — Karen Clark, 28 Jun 2021
  • We’ve just returned from our 2nd visit to Bearberry Cottage. It is a fantastic Cottage in a very central location of Ballater. Covid precautions were evident on our arrival and continued throughout our stay. The quality of this accommodation is outstanding, you want for nothing at all. It is home from home. Think of anything you might want from a holiday and it’s there. Parking is great, the driveway could take 4 cars no problem. The garden is secluded and great for our dog & relaxing in general. There’s so much do around the area and the local village is great, has loads of quirky shops.
    Would highly recommend this “gem of a find”.. will book again.

    — Anne & Paul Nesbitt, 11 Jun 2021
  • Stayed a couple of weeks at Bearberry and had very good weather in the last week. Plenty of walking and the circuit of Loch Muick was a highlight. Had stayed here on 5 occasions and the quality of the accommodation is exceptional. The provisions for COVID safety were well considered to allow the holiday to take place. Booked for next year.
    For those walking the glens the Golden Eagles seemed to be more visible this year.
    We can fully recommend Bearberry as an excellent retreat in the heart of Royal Deeside.

    — Michael & Mary, 06 Jun 2021
  • We have been holidaying in Ballater for 32 continuous years,and Bearberry is by far the best rental we have found. We shall not be looking further. We have found the perfect idyll. The delightful garden is completely secure for our dog,and is a suntrap for us. The house is spotless, comfortable and extremely well equipped and located in the most quiet and attractive area of Ballater. It is so quiet you can hear only the birds singing. Bearberry really is a gem. We are just back home and already missing it terribly.

    — Stephen , 23 May 2021
  • We have just returned from our fourth visit to Bearberry and have booked again for 2022. The house is so welcoming, spotlessly clean and extremely well equipped, with everything you could possibly require in a holiday home, including a wide range of books, DVDs and board games.The garden is very well kept and is a lovely space to relax in the evenings, and we regularly watched two red squirrels walking along the fence and climbing the trees at the bottom of the garden. It is very clear that the owners consistently maintain very high standards in relation to the upkeep of their lovely cottage, and we really enjoy returning to Bearberry every year.

    — Moira Purdie, 14 May 2021
  • Had a lovely few days here our first time at Bearberry- was a lovely clean comfortable cottage - very well equipped and set in a quiet cul de sac it’s so relaxing with nice enclosed garden and plenty private parking - appreciated welcome pack also couldn’t ask for more in a holiday house super!

    — Pauline Cain, 08 May 2021
  • Beautiful cottage in a stunning area. The cottage has everything you need for a wonderful holiday. There's so much to do and see in the surrounding area too.

    — H - Norfolk, 16 Oct 2020
  • We enjoyed another fantastic week at Bearberry Cottage. The house is absolutely perfect in all respects. The surroundings are so peaceful and the house has everything you could ever want. We were extremely lucky with the weather and enjoyed lots of lovely walks nearby. If the weather isn't good, the cottage is well stocked with DVDs, games for all ages and books. The enclosed garden and the village shops a short stroll away are a definite attraction for us. We had a visit from a pheasant one morning and enjoyed seeing the many different birds feeding at the bird feeder and red squirrels running along the back garden fence. We can thoroughly recommend the local Phoenix Chip Shop and the Chinese Takeaway. We were sad to be leaving but hope to return.

    — Diane and Hamish, 20 Mar 2020
  • Our second holiday at Bearberry and already rebooked! Absolutely love Ballater and surrounding area. Beautiful scenery, so many fantastic walks and great local shops/cafes. Bearberry is our favourite cottage. We have stayed in a few but nothing beats the home comforts, location and cleanliness of Bearberry! Fantastic for our wee dog too. Owners always make contract, haven't had any issues but get the impression they would be happy to help if needed.

    — Sarah, Edinburgh, 14 Feb 2020
  • Our third stay at this fabulous place and as good as ever. Beautifully clean, beautifully maintained and in a beautiful location - what more can you want?! Plus great owners who are a delight and extremely helpful.

    — Vicky, Eastbourne, 24 Jan 2020
  • Bearberry is a home from home and that is why we keep returning. The level of care, love and attention both the owners and caretaker give Bearberry is excellent. There is everything you need for a wonderful stay and the standard of furnishings and linen is superb. We are always sad to leave. It really is a beautiful place to relax in. Many thanks in letting us borrow the perfect holiday home.

    — Andy, Easingwold, 25 Oct 2019
  • We have stayed in Bearberry Cottage several times now and keep returning because it is so good! The cottage is very well equipped and presented and maintained to a very high standard. The location provides good privacy and yet is convenient for all local services and a range of walking options, some of which can be accessed direct from the cottage or within a short drive. Absolutely lovely! We have already booked for next year.

    — Hamish, Milngavie, 18 Oct 2019
  • We know Ballater very well as a beautiful location in the Highlands, surrounded by stunning scenery, and with numerous eateries within walking distance of Bearberry Cottage. The cottage is one of the best cottages we have ever stayed in, spacious and very comfortable, and so well equipped. We would absolutely recommend Bearberry Cottage for the best Ballater experience."

    — Beverley, Broadstairs, 04 Oct 2019
  • Bearberry is a delightful, spacious cottage, beautifully presented, spotlessly clean, very well equipped with everything you could need to make your stay a pleasant memorable one. Spoilt for choice with TVs in the lounge, two bedrooms and the kitchen/diner!! You might not want to go out! Accommodation most suitable for people with mobility issues. Lovely tranquil rear garden with patio area. Great spot for birdwatching, also saw two red squirrels! Quietly yet centrally located, short walk to town amenities. Great shops, eateries. Brilliant butchers for those who enjoy meat! Great base for enjoying the attractions of Royal Deeside. Lots of information available in house to advise on various outings and activities. Best cottage we have stayed in, highly recommend and can't wait to return."

    — Lorna, Falkirk, 20 Sep 2019
  • We have spent many holidays here and like it very much.

    — Gael, Edinburgh, 16 Aug 2019
  • A wonderful cottage in a beautiful location.

    — Heather, 19 Jul 2019
  • This is the fourth year we have stayed at Bearberry. It is an excellent base for the things we like to do; mainly walking, golfing, with sufficient local amenities. The accommodation is always presented in exceptional order and the provision of washing and drying machines are very helpful for extended stays. The drying room is useful for airing clothes after a day's walk. We would have no hesitation in recommending this property as an ideal base for those looking for a range of outdoor activities.

    — Michael, Cambridge, 28 Jun 2019
  • We picked Bearberry Cottage from a website, it was the first cottage I viewed and instantly thought this looks fantastic. We booked it and on arrival felt instantly at 'home' before we had even got into the property. Once inside - WOW - the property was immaculate, had every imaginable item you would require for a home. It's cosy, private, spacious, modern. Has a driveway that could probably house four cars. This holiday was with our friends from Germany and they were really pleased with the choice. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone who likes class from a holiday. You couldn't ask for anything more. There is so much to do in/around Ballater.

    — Paul, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, 07 Jun 2019
  • 3rd time at Bearberry Cottage and going back again soon.

    — Gael, Edinburgh, 24 May 2019
  • We have just returned from our third visit to Bearberry and have already booked another week in 2020. The cottage is always so welcoming and all of the fixtures and fittings are of an extremely high standard. We always relax immediately when we arrive, knowing that the house will be spotless and everything that is required for a self catering holiday has been provided for - and so much more! We had friends staying with us this year and they were so impressed with the quality of the house and its location. We had wonderful weather, which made our stay even more special and we really enjoyed the lovely garden. Bearberry is a 5* establishment which is an absolute credit to the owners and their housekeeper. We just can't wait to return to our favourite holiday cottage next year!

    — Moira, Glasgow, 17 May 2019
  • Great holiday break. Bearberry Cottage just perfect. Could not be better.

    — George, Rosehearty, 19 Apr 2019
  • A very clean, comfortable and beautifully furnished cottage which we thoroughly enjoyed. The enclosed garden is a definite plus point. We enjoyed many walks from the front door and the village and shops being a short stroll away. The best holiday home we have stayed in so far. We enjoyed it so much we have already booked for next year.

    — Hamish and Diane, 29 Mar 2019
  • We have had many wonderful holidays at Bearberry. The reason we keep returning is the fact that it is always perfectly maintained and so comfortable. Always spotlessly clean and welcoming, it has everything you could need for an enjoyable holiday. Perfect home from home.

    — Karen, York, 23 Mar 2019
  • Fabulous cottage in the heart of Ballater. Really well equipped with everything you need to have a great holiday. Many walks from the door in every direction. Would return in a heartbeat.

    — Matthew, Crewe, 22 Feb 2019
  • Bearberry Cottage is second to none. When you take the cottage over it is immaculate thanks to a wonderful cleaner. There is ample room for everyone, including a baby and a dog, and is ideally located for town. All bedrooms are well furnished with very comfortable beds, and the living and dining areas are very well furnished too. The kitchen is very well equipped with just about everything you need and plenty of plates, glasses, mugs etc to allow you to use without running out of crockery! We are definitely returning and would highly recommend the cottage.

    — V, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, 05 Jan 2019
  • By far the best rental cottage we ever visit. Whenever we stay here it always makes us want to own it! Great layout and facilities. For a dog friendly home you would never know as it is so clean and fresh. Can't fault it. Very good communication from the owner.

    — Steven, Aberdeen, 07 Dec 2018
  • Brilliant cottage, loads of nice touches and very cosy. Plenty of games and DVDs for wet weather too. The wood fire is great for the winter. Lovely big kitchen and en suite bathroom in the main bedroom. Couldn't recommend it enough.

    — Craig, Dumbarton, 23 Nov 2018
  • Another excellent holiday in this very comfortable and impeccably prepared house.

    — Hamish, Glasgow, 09 Nov 2018
  • We have had so many wonderful holidays at the fabulous Bearberry and intend to have many more. It's always been immaculate but welcoming and the feeling of being so relaxed and at home means we never want to leave. So well equipped, it has everything you could need regardless of the weather. The love and care the owners and caretaker have of the cottage is evident and we can't thank you enough for letting us borrow such a lovely cottage.

    — Karen, York, 02 Nov 2018
  • We enjoyed a lovely break here. The Cottage is very comfortable, well-equipped and home from home. Ballater is a favourite place of ours and finding this cottage made it perfect for us. We’ll definitely be back!

    — Colin, Edinburgh, 26 Oct 2018
  • We’ve just had our second holiday at Bearberry cottage and it was our best holiday ever. Bearberry cottage is so gorgeous that I could just move in tomorrow. I don’t feel as relaxed anywhere else in the world as I do here. I’m even more relaxed here than I am at home! Our little feline was totally chilled out too!
    Every thing you could possibly need is already here. Excellent DVD and book libraries. Games galore for all ages and local area information that could keep you busy forever. Bird watching, squirrel spotting and admiring the mighty Craigendarroch from the comfort of the patio in the delightful garden.
    I’m sure it’s somewhere that everyone can fall in love with. I know I have. I can’t wait to return.

    — Hiedi, Norfolk, 12 Oct 2018

  • Stayed at Bearberry Cottage twice and loved it. It has great accommodation and a lovely garden and we can take our dog so what more could you want! Saw red squirrels in the trees at the back of the garden. Wouldn't hesitate

    — Carole, Stoke-on-Trent, 07 Sep 2018

  • Excellent week again. Great location for mountain biking. Only a short walk to the village which has everything you can need. The house is equipped with everything you can want for a self catering and comfortable stay.

    — Mrs Rudkin, Denny, 17 Aug 2018
  • Our family of five (and dog) had a fantastic week staying at Bearberry Cottage. The house is very well equipped throughout, from kitchen equipment to a huge library of DVDs and books. The enclosed garden was perfect for our toddler and dog. The beds are extremely comfortable too! The location within Ballater is perfect with Craigendarroch Hill on the doorstep and just a few minutes walk to the village green and shops. Highly recommend!

    — Emily, Aberdeen, 10 Aug 2018

  • Excellent holiday destination and a fully equipped spacious house with a enclosed rear garden which our dog enjoyed. Great for a quiet family holiday. Hope to return soon.

    — George, 03 Aug 2018
  • Beautiful cottage in a beautiful location. It was spotlessly clean, and is extremely well equipped with good quality furniture and fittings. Will definitely return!

    — Mr and Mrs M, Co Durham, 29 Jun 2018
  • We stayed at Bearberry for the third successive year and have booked for next year.
    Although only 2 of us used this 3 bedroom cottage it was just what we needed. It is kept impeccably, it is in a location which allows walking over a wide area, it is close to several golf courses and the visitor amenities in Ballater are very good.
    We rate this as the best self catering cottage we have used and are happy to score this 10 out of 10.

    — Michael, Cambridge, 15 Jun 2018
  • Bearberry Cottage is ideal as it is comfortable - Well equipped and spotlessly clean. Garden enjoys sun all daylong. Quiet situation. Well worth returning.

    — Gael, Edinburgh, 25 May 2018

  • We loved Bearberry Cottage. In 30 years of 'cottaging' in Scotland, Bearberry is right up with the very best we have experienced. We usually book remoter locations, but this very quiet residential setting proved peaceful yet within easy walking distance of all amenities. The walks straight from the door were delightful, perfect for our dog. The bungalow is freshly decorated, well furnished and the owners have upgraded the interior to a high standard. The central heating is very effective and the wood burner adds an extra option to cheer up winter evenings. I have marked the cottage down from 10/10 on only one category, value for money, because mid and high season prices are very high compared with other properties we use. However, the visitor book shows that this is no deterrent to others. Bearberry won't disappoint, that's for sure.

    — Alison, Edinburgh, 13 Apr 2018

  • We have just returned from our second, memorable visit to Bearberry Cottage. The house is so comfortable and spotlessly clean, with superior furnishings,fixtures and fittings. It is the best equipped holiday home that we have ever stayed in and we have booked numerous quality properties in Scotland and England over the years. The house is a five minute walk to the village and there is a good variety of coffee shops and restaurants in Ballater. We were very sorry to leave Bearberry Cottage this year and have already booked two weeks in 2019!

    — Moira, Glasgow, 06 Apr 2018

  • Fantastic cottage, home from home, everything you need for a very comfortable stay .
    Love the wood burner heats up the room in no time.
    Will definitely return to Bearberry in the near future as one of the best cottages I have stayed in.

    — S, Montrose, 30 Mar 2018

  • Had a great week despite all that the weather could throw at us! Even with moderate snow-fall the village was fully functional with plenty of stock in the shops, eateries open and serving full menu and everyone cheery and getting on with their lives - well done Ballater!
    Once the snow descended we were still able to get out for some walks along the old railway line and the wood burner in the cottage came into its own (central heating perfectly adequate but wood burner gave that extra warm and cosy glow) - nice long afternoons and evenings with the papers, books and tv/dvds and all the mod cons the cottage has to offer, what's not to like!!

    — Alana, Glasgow, 02 Mar 2018

  • This was our third visit to Bearberry and we are sure it won’t be the last it is so well maintained and relaxing we couldn’t rate it highly enough. The surrounding area is beautiful and ideal for touring we still find lots of new places to visit and old favourites to return to. The caretaker obviously takes pride in keeping the cottage spotless and the owners make sure everything is available for guests to enjoy their stay. This time we noticed a new boiler, outdoor seating and more games books and dvds have been added to the vast collection. If you are thinking about booking this cottage just do it you will not be disappointed it is brilliant.

    — Lesley, Newcastle upon Tyne, 16 Feb 2018
  • Beautiful cottage all home comforts provided.

    — Ian, Edinburgh, 05 Feb 2018

  • This has to be our favourite holiday property ever. This was our third visit to Bearberry Cottage and it was once again wonderful in every way. The cottage is to such a high standard with everything you can think of covered. We will certainly be returning.

    — Donna, Lancashire, 04 Jan 2018
  • Best self catering cottage we have ever had. Can't speak highly enough about it.

    — Confirmed guest, 20 Nov 2017

  • This is a great cottage, very well equipped and clearly loved. The fixtures and fittings are high end and it’s very tastefully decorated and furnished. The location is just an easy walk in to Ballater. We’ve stayed in many holiday cottages and this is by far the best we’ve ever rented. We have no hesitation in recommending this cottage as a wonderful place to stay. We’ve had two stays now and can’t wait to return next year!

    — Vicky, 03 Nov 2017
  • Excellent accommodation

    — Keith, Ebbw Vale, 27 Oct 2017
  • After several stays in Bearberry we continue to love the cottage and it’s location. It is perfect for us. It’s smart and comfortable and has everything you could need for a relaxing stay. The fact that it is the owner’s holiday home rather than just a rental is clear in that the cottage is always well maintained, clean and everything provided is of good quality. The only negative, we are not the only ones who love it and getting booked in is getting difficult due to people returning again and again! Thank you for the lovely times we’ve spent there so far.

    — Karen, Easingwold, 20 Oct 2017

  • I could not have asked for better! Exactly what I was looking for, and what the doctor ordered! I was looking for peace and quiet and a nice house to charge my batteries. I was not disappointed! Excellent value for money. I have had many houses/cottages over the years but Bearberry was by far the best value for money and everything one needs was there. There was nothing I needed that wasn't there. 10/10

    — Hugh, Arbroath, 13 Oct 2017
  • Fabulous cottage

    — James, Kilmarnock, 22 Sep 2017
  • Great relaxing stay in Bearberry Cottage. Every comfort thought of o make our stay pleasureable.
    Customer service was second to none from the owners and the local coordinator. We would definitely stay again!

    — Janet, Texas, 18 Aug 2017
  • This was an absolutely immaculate cottage, we could not have asked for any better. The whole cottage was so clean and had all the equipment you could ask for. The DVD and games selection was great and helped keep us entertained in the evening.
    Seeing the squirrels and birds in the back garden was fabulous. We have already booked to come back in 2018. Our boys (14 and 12) have said it was the best place they have ever stopped. It was made even better by the fact that it was Victoria week, which we didn't know when we booked. Amazing, really not sure what else I can say to make it sound even better :o)

    — Nicky, Preston family, 11 Aug 2017

  • We had a very enjoyable week in Bearberry Cottage. The house is modern and immaculate and is the best equipped self catering property we have stayed in to date. It is only a short distance into Ballater and we enjoyed walking into the village for dinner at night. We have already booked another week's holiday at Bearberry, during 2018, and are looking forward to returning to this lovely, beautifully maintained home.

    — Moira, 01 Aug 2017
  • Bearberry cottage is a lovely place to stay. It is convenient to the village centre and has lots of lovely walks nearby to please the dog!

    — Heather, Brighton, 21 Jul 2017
  • Felt at home in this beautiful cottage from the minute we entered. Had everything you could need for a week away. Lovely garden to sit in too after a day walking. So many lovely walks in the area.

    — Dawn, Edinburgh, 07 Jul 2017

  • Second stay at this cottage and there will be a third. Spotlessly clean, quiet, private but good location for the mountains and attractions. Comfortable beds and great shower. Well equipped kitchen. Strong Wi-Fi. What more do you need?

    — Simon, 30 Jun 2017

  • This is a great holiday house with the best of facilities. We thank the owners for a LUXURY break.

    — Robin, Strathaven, 23 Jun 2017

  • The accommodation, space and cleanliness of Bearberry is exceptional; a real home from home. It is simply the best of the many places we have stayed for this type of holiday.
    The quiet location in Ballater provided an ideal base for our walking and golfing activities (Ballater and nearby Banchory courses are exceptional courses at reasonable prices).
    Ballater is recovering from the flooding of 2015 and the village provides a wide range of eating places and grocery shopping to suit all needs.
    We are likely to book Bearberry for next year; what more can we say!

    — Michael, Cambridge, 16 Jun 2017
  • After several wonderful holidays at Hyland's Cottage in Aviemore we decided it was time to visit the lovely owners other cottage in Ballater and we were not disappointed. Bearberry Cottage is simply stunning. Every comfort of home has been supplied. Everything you could possibly need for a relaxing holiday. Books, DVDs and games galore. Cozy wood burner for rainy days. Well equipped kitchen. Lovely walks from your front door too. I did not want to leave and as a result we've already booked to return to Bearberry next year.
    Look out for the Red Squirrels in the beautiful garden.
    Excellent base for exploring Aberdeenshire.

    — Hiedi, East Dereham, 26 May 2017
  • Main impressions of the accommodation were of quality and attention to detail.

    — Patrick, Dollar, 05 May 2017
  • Everything that has been said about this cottage previously regarding comfort, cleanliness, equipment and location - wonderful.
    The cottage is beautifully located within easy reach of Ballater and the surrounding area -
    loads to see and do - handy for local shops, pubs and takeaways.
    Furnishings and equipment were second to none and the garden was secluded which meant our dog was safe to lie out and watch the wonderful bird life that frequented the garden (I took a supply of Sunflower Hearts and feeder with me - but the owners had kindly provided one). This cottage is a must for everyone!!!

    — Hermit, Clydebank, 30 Apr 2017

  • A great place to stop with nice places to eat within walking distance
    A cottage with everything you need for a great holiday
    We had sunshine and snow but what would you expect in Scotland
    Great places to visit and a good centre for all activities

    — Mick, Accrington, 21 Apr 2017
  • Excellent amenities and all quality equipment most enjoyable Thank you.

    — Helen, 14 Apr 2017
  • Our 5th visit to Bearberry and won't be the last.
    Love Ballater. Love Deeside. Love the house!

    — Judith, Aberdeen, 10 Mar 2017
  • Lovely cottage, spotlessly clean. Village a short walk away. Ballater and surrounding area is beautiful. We would 100% stay here again.

    — Lauren, Manchester, 03 Mar 2017
  • Our 2nd visit here and we've already booked the 3rd. Fabulous cottage with everything needed for a brilliant holiday. Including all logs for the burner. The surrounding area is great for walking wildlife and sightseeing. The owners and caretaker are very attentive and really want guests to enjoy the time there. We couldn't recommend it highly enough. What are you waiting for just book it... unless it's for the same time as us!

    — Lesley, Newcastle upon Tyne, 24 Feb 2017
  • Beautiful spacious bungalow a short walk from Ballater shops with the Craigendarroch hill on your doorstep Stunning scenery & plenty of walks at all levels Very cosy & well equipped Extremely clean & comfortable The owners have thought of everything especially with a welcome bottle of wine such a nice touch Highly recommended especially for families & dog owners Can't fault it.

    — Jane, Westhill, 03 Feb 2017
  • Our second stay at Bearberry cottage and another fabulous visit. We celebrated in style and had a glass of champagne to welcome in the New Year!
    This cottage is immaculate and is a real quality property with everything you could wish for in a holiday home.
    The beautiful village of Ballater is a short walk away. The villages of Banchory, Aboyne, and Braemar are all within an easy drive away and are well worth a visit.
    The walks from the cottage are numerous and all stunning.
    Bring with you bird feed and nuts for the gardens visiting red squirrels and birds.
    You will not be disappointed in choosing to book Bearberry cottage, we have already booked our third visit.
    Thank you

    — Donna, West Houghton, 04 Jan 2017
  • Lovely welcoming cottage in a fabulous place.

    — N, Ossett, 28 Dec 2016

  • We had a wonderful week enjoying the beautiful autumn colours on our many walks. We were very comfortable in the cottage and appreciated the high standard of facilities and preparation.

    — Alana, Milngavie, 04 Nov 2016

  • We have just spent another fabulously relaxing week at Bearberry.
    It is still incredibly clean and well presented with pretty much everything you need for the perfect week away.
    This is a beautiful cottage and cleaned and equipped to a excellent standard. Despite allowing dogs to stay there is never any evidence of this and the furnishings and decor are first class.
    We have been several times before and intend to return several more.
    It is ideally situated in Ballater allowing access to the town and many walks by foot.
    Due to a collection of games, dvds and now wifi, even wet weather will not dampen your enjoyment of your holiday.

    — Karen, Easingwold, 21 Oct 2016

  • We stayed at Bearberry Cottage from 7-14th October this year. Our second enjoyable visit. Weather was quite nice for the time of year and the wild life a source of great entertainment. The house is beautiful, clean and well equipped with the log burner an added bonus. Looking forward to our next visit. Thanks Athol & Lorelle for the use of your lovely home.

    — Doreen, Aberdeen, 14 Oct 2016

  • Well equipped bungalow in a peaceful location only a ten minute walk from town. Audrey the caretaker ensures high standards are maintained for arriving guests, including a much appreciated bottle of wine.

    — Alister, Lincolnshire, 19 Aug 2016
  • Excellent cottage, immaculately presented. A very comfortable house tastefully furnished.

    — Ron, Edinburgh, 05 Aug 2016

  • The presentation of the cottage on line and reviews on it all pointed to an impressive holiday home and it lived up to and exceeded our expectations. The collection of maps, annotated guide books and pamphlets ensured we had our very own tourist information at hand and provided inspiration for new routes in the area.
    It was lovely to sit at the back door and drink in the stillness. Equally lovely to sit by the log fire in the evening and gaze hypnotically at the flickering flames.
    The hard work by the owners and caretaker truly made Bearberry Cottage a home from home.
    Wi -fi signal excellent throughout our stay.

    — Margaret, Cruden Bay, 29 Jul 2016
  • Bearberry Cottage is super...very well equipped, extremely clean and neat. Spacious enough for our family of 5 with 3, nearly all adult, children but would also feel cosy for 2. Lots of books, walk books and maps, dvds and games. The house is situated in a very quiet road with a lovely view of pine woods out the back but only a short walk from Ballater centre with cafes, takeaways, bike hire, George Strachan for an amazing selection of whisky and a fantastic Co-op open from 7-late. There are lots of stunning walks and cycles within a short distance and many places to visit nearby. Sadly even 6 months after the devastating floods some shops and homes are still empty but great to see the huge recovery that has been made. We would definitely recommend the cottage and hope to book it again ourselves.

    — Mark, Perth, 15 Jul 2016

  • Excellent cottage, lovely location and very well equipped. Would happily return and recommend to friends and family. Plenty of places to eat in Ballater and stunning scenery round about.

    — Kath, York, 08 Jul 2016

  • We have been coming to Scotland for over 20 years (self catering) this cottage is in the top 3, maybe even the best! The area looked fabulous after the snow, and the rivers were spectacular as the snow melted. Bearberry Cottage is a lovely, warm, welcoming place to come home to after a hard day exploring. We hope to return.

    — Robert, Doncaster, 06 May 2016
  • We had a wonderful week at the cottage with our one and two year old daughters. Everything you needed was provided for such in a well organised and spotless house.
    We had snow blizzards everyday which meant we stayed in a lot which was great. The wood burner was amazing. The girls loved the garden too.
    Thank you for a great stay. Hopefully we will be back.

    — Norma, Dunblane, 29 Apr 2016
  • The cottage far exceeded our expectations, couldn't want for anything. Fantastic location for walking and outdoor activities in general.
    The information packs in the cottage were excellent and gave plenty of maps and directions for walking.
    There are plenty of shops in the village, a new co op has just opened which is stocked with pretty much everything. There are coffee shops aplenty, carry out Indian, Chinese and chippy. If you don't fancy cooking.
    It is a real pity the bottom of the town was so badly affected with the flooding, a few shops in that area are still not open. Our hearts really went out the store keepers and residents.
    Overall the whole area is stunning.
    We would certainly recommend staying in the cottage, providing your dates do not conflict with our planned stay !

    — Kenny, Elderslie, Renfrewshire, 22 Apr 2016
  • We had a very relaxed and comfortable stay in this lovely bungalow. A real home from home.

    — Adam, Livingston, 08 Apr 2016
  • Great cottage very well equipped. We loved the log burner & luxury bathroom! Our boys enjoyed playing in the garden & we all enjoyed the birds. Beautiful part of the country, so many wonderful walks on your door step. So lovely to come home to such a comfortable cottage after a long day outdoors & great to sit down & watch a movie or play a game from the huge selection. Everything has been thought about, very comfy beds, blackout curtains, fluffy towels & spotlessly clean. Only downside it's so popular it's hard to find another available week! Would definitely like to return! Thank you.

    — Sarah, Edinburgh, 01 Apr 2016
  • 2nd visit to Bearberry and again we had a great week. Everything is perfect at Bearberry. Hope to rebook for next year. So happy to see Ballater is picking up after the recent floods. We ate out most days/nights to help boost their economy and adopted a local Tweedie Beastie from one of the town shops. Thank you for a lovely week.

    — George, Fife, 25 Mar 2016
  • This is a beautiful cottage and cleaned and equipped to a excellent standard. Despite allowing dogs to stay there is never any evidence of this and the furnishings and decor are first class.
    We have been several times before and intend to return several more.
    It is ideally situated in Ballater allowing access to the town and many walks by foot.
    Due to a collection of games, dvds and now wifi, even wet weather will not dampen your enjoyment of your holiday.

    — Karen, Easingwold, 11 Mar 2016
  • Perfect holiday in the perfect holiday cottage.

    — Amanda, Middlesbrough, 04 Mar 2016

  • Excellent cottage and location. Couldn't be faulted at all. We would certainly return and recommend! We loved the log burner, home comforts, wildlife in the garden, walking in all directions from the door step and the the 6 inches of snow that was delivered as we arrived! Wonderful! Thank you so much.

    — Lesley, Newcastle upon Tyne, 19 Feb 2016

  • We had a wonderful holiday, the perfect location for dog walks too many to choose from. The accommodation was amazing! Very clean, lovely spacious rooms, really did not want to come home. The owners provided wine on arrival which is always a good start and ensured we had plenty of information on the village and surrounding areas. Needless to say we will definitely be planning a return visit and would highly recommend this to friends.

    — Craig, Leeds, 15 Jan 2016

  • The amenities at Bearberry Cottage are first class. The cottage is clean and tidy and finished to an excellent standard. We had Wi-Fi at the cottage which never let us down, there is a log fire which we used most days due to very bad weather, however this did not spoil our enjoyment of the cottage. The bed's are so comfy and with blackout curtains fitted and such a quiet area, we slept in on most day's. Ballater is a beautiful village and only a 10 minute walk from the cottage, as are wonderful walks in practically every direction. The garden is perfect for watching the birds and red squirrel visiting - bring nut's. Would not hesitate in recommending to everyone, in fact we have already booked another stay!

    — Donna, Westhoughton, 04 Jan 2016

  • wonderful cottage in a fantastic place !

    — Noelle, 28 Dec 2015
  • Such a nice place! I really recommend it.

    — Confirmed guest, 07 Dec 2015

  • A truly excellent cottage, really lovely with very helpful, friendly owner, highly recommended stay. Many thx.

    — Angela, London , 20 Nov 2015

  • Excellent cottage in beautiful surroundings. Everything you need including wi-fi. very spacious and cosy. red sqirrels in garden. we never go to the same cottage twice but have made an exception with this one and booked again for next year. the cleanest cottage we have stayed in. comfy beds and sofas. should be five star.

    — Angela, North Shields, 30 Oct 2015

  • A lovely cottage, very quiet area of ballater but short walk to shops etc. Saw red squrriel's in the garden. Walks straight from the door, in fact you could easily not use your car all week. Wifi must have just been installed so this was a added bonus .

    — Penny, Driffield, 23 Oct 2015

  • A beautiful and well equipped cottage on the edge of the village . Warm and welcoming, a credit to the caretaker and the owners.Everything was perfect. We had a brilliant week walking and exploring the area. As stated previously 'the Bothy' and the butchers can be recommended. Would definitely like to return.

    — Jonquil, Colne, 02 Oct 2015

  • The cottage is well equiped and in a quiet location but close to the village with good local amenities. The cottage is perfect for couples and families alike.

    — Kay, Derby, 14 Aug 2015

  • Loved the cottage, every comfort thought of, log burning fire great.

    — Paul, Birmingham, 17 Jul 2015

  • Bearberry Cottage certainly exceeds 10/10. When we arrived the property was absolutely pristine and is furnished to a very high standard, having everything and more that we needed for our stay. The situation of the property is ideal and we enjoyed a most relaxing week in beautiful surroundings. We certainly could not fault anything about our stay and will certainly return at some point in the future.

    — Jill, Falkirk, 19 Jun 2015

  • Our second stay at Bearberry and already looking forward to returning later this year!

    — Judith, Aberdeen, 01 Jun 2015

  • Excellently appointed house in a quiet residential area of Ballater, yet only five minutes walk from a wide range of high quality services.

    — Alice, Paisley, 29 May 2015

  • By far the best self catering property we have rented in Scotland (and we've rented quite a few properties!).
    Very comfortable, beautifully furnished and very well equipped
    An easy stroll into Ballater and good walks straight from the door.
    We won't consider renting anywhere else in Ballater.

    — Colin, Lancaster , 15 May 2015

  • Had a great week staying in this wonderful cottage! Lots of space and stylish decor. Extremely well organised and well maintained. Ballater itself is a good location with bars, restaurants etc all within walking distance of 'Bearberry Cottage' so easy to walk to and from without taking the car! Already considering another visit and would highly recommend to anyone.

    — Carole, London, 17 Apr 2015

  • One of the best properties we have ever stayed in. Everything just perfect. A very helpful caretaker as well. The woodburner is outstanding as is the location.

    — Peter, Carnoustie , 17 Mar 2015

  • Fantastic Holiday Cottage. Quiet location, spotlessly clean, lovely area of Ballater, with plenty of walks from the door which suited us to a tee as we were on a walking holiday. Plenty of amenities in Ballater, all within walking distance, and only a short drive from Braemar, Balmoral, Aboyne, Banchory, and Tomintoul. We would definitely recommend to family and friends, and have already contacted the owners in the hope of re-booking next year. No Wi-Fi, or Internet, but was great to get away from it for a week. Lovely Cream Teas at 'The Bothy', and a fantastic Indian meal at the 'Lochnagar Brasserie'. In summary, a great place to stay, with everything you need, in a beautiful part of Scotland.

    — George, Fife, 13 Mar 2015

  • Amazing holiday in a lovely house. We could not have asked for more.

    — Hillary, Carnoustie , 06 Mar 2015

  • Immaculate cottage with everything you could wish for, spotlessly clean,well equipped and very welcoming finishing touches. Well organised and clear instructions. Superb location. We had a wonderful holiday and hope to return very soon. Will certainly recommend to family and friends.

    — Stephanie, Northampton , 23 Feb 2015

  • A superb value holiday cottage. Attractive, comfortable and lovely location at the foot of Craigendarroch hill.

    — Andrew, Crieff, 20 Feb 2015

  • One of the best properties I have stayed in. Spotlessly clean in a stunning location. Very comfortable and well equipped kitchen with everything required in a home from home supplied.

    — Jacqueline, Inverurie, 16 Feb 2015

  • So impressed by the cottage. Everything was perfect. Well equipped and spotless. Great grade and kids and dog has their "own forest" So handy for Glenshee where the snow was great. Will be back again and already have told other about Bearberry Cottage.

    — Graeme, Airdrie, 13 Feb 2015

  • Amazing cottage in an amazing place.

    — Noelle, Ossett, 28 Dec 2014


  • The cottage was beautiful. The log burner in the lounge made the room so warm and it was so comforting to see the logs burning when there was snow outside. All the linen was beautiful quality soft fluffy towels warm duvets and crisp sheets and duvet covers. Would definately visit again. Only short 10 minute walk into Ballater where there are numerous shops selling quality unusual and bespoke items. Numerous coffee shops in Ballater as well as take aways. Definately need to go to local butcher where an amazing array of local meat as well as friendly helpful staff. Wonderful break going to book next Christmas if possible.

    — Gillian, Sibsey, 12 Dec 2014

  • Fantastic cottage, real home from home, the location is perfect within walking distance of the local shops.

    — Gwen, Edinburgh, 05 Dec 2014

  • Beautiful well equipped cottage. Finished to a very high standard. Would recommend staying here.

    — Tracey, Aberdeen, 03 Nov 2014

  • Fantastic cottage 5*+. We would definitely go back, everything was just perfect.

    — Gillian, Kilmarnock , 17 Oct 2014

  • Lovely district, cottage lovely in every way, so comfy and really well furnished and clean,
    great fenced in garden for the dog. Lovely walks near the cottage.
    Would definately go back. One of the best cottages we have been in.

    — Isabel, St Andrews, 05 Sep 2014

  • Excellent accommodation,walking distance to Ballater with good amenities.

    — John, Wigan, 08 Aug 2014

  • We really loved our stay at Bearberry cottage. It was a really comfortable house with everything you needed and within easy walking distance of the centre of town where there were interesting shops, bars and restaurants. We enjoyed being able to sit out in the garden in the evening after a day out walking in the beautiful countryside. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a break away from it all but who still wants home comforts.

    — Gwen, Kirkintilloch, 18 Jul 2014

  • Amazing cottage. Home from home. So comfortable. Wi fi would be the icing on the cake however found out Balmoral Bar had wi fi so that was helpful. Loved it and can't wait to go back.

    — Alexandrina, Newbridge, 11 Jul 2014

  • Fabulous house, very well equipped to a high & very comfortable standard. No wifi but not a bad thing! Lots of books, DVDs, maps of the area & book with walks which the owners had very helpfully put comments against & we enjoyed a few we may otherwise not have picked. Lovely private garden where we ate in often, even breakfast, the weather was so good. Ballater is a lovely town with excellent butcher, deli & a few good restaurants, also loads of walks & cycles. Would definitely recommend & would return.

    — Fiona, Balloch, 27 Jun 2014

  • The description we read about Bearberry Cottage was 100% accurate. It was clean, comfortable & well located, being a 15 minute walk into town. Plus, it was spacious with top class furnishings & equipment. Parking was great as well. If you are looking to rent in Ballater, try Bearberry Cottage, you'll love it. We certainly did!

    — Ray, Chester Le Street, 13 Jun 2014

  • Bearberry Cottage is a fantastic property where we immediately felt at home! It was clean and well equipped and a excellent base for exploring Ballater, Deeside and the surrounding area! The weather was great which allowed us to enjoy the outside space and eat the majority of our meals in the garden where a red squirrel kept us entertained.

    — Judith, Aberdeen, 23 May 2014

  • We spent a lovely weekend at Bearberry. The house is spacious and beautifully furnished. The bottle of wine was a lovely touch.

    — Chrystal, Inverness, 28 Apr 2014

  • Fantastic cottage in brilliant location.

    — Elizabeth, Falkirk, 25 Apr 2014

  • Absolutely perfect cottage. The surrounding area is beautiful with lovely walks on your doorstep. Great location for visiting places from Aberdeen to skiing. Thank you.

    — Michelle, Dunmow, 11 Apr 2014

  • Amazing cottage, beautifully refurbished. Easy access very centrally located. Would definitely recommend and stay again

    — Pam, Preston, 14 Mar 2014